The official archives of the

Science Fiction Poetry Association

The 1980 Rhysling Anthology and Awards

The 1980 Rhysling Awards

Short Poem Category

Winners (tie)

  • Encased in the Amber of Eternity by Robert Frazier
  • The Migration of Darkness by Peter Payack
  • Long Poem Category


  • The Sonic Flowerfall of Primes by Andrew Joron

  • The Rhysling Awards 1980

    The 1980 Rhysling Anthology             Graphics: Robert Frazier, Karen G. Jollie & M.M. Roessner-Herman
                Cover Art: Karen G. Jollie
                SFPA Secretary and Factotum: Suzette Haden Elgin
                Published in Star*Line, Vol. 3 Issue 5, Sept./Oct. 1980

    Rhysling Award nominees published in 1979

          Awards Key
                First Place winner
                More than one poem with the same color code within a category indicates a tie.


  • Neal Wilgus Metamorphosis Braincandy, July 1979
  • Peter Payack The Migration of Darkness Asimov's Science Fiction, Aug. 1979
  • Bruce Boston If Gravity Was Like Weather Star*Line, June 1979
  • Duane Ackerson The Stars, Crucified on Thier Limbs of Light Star*Line, 1979
  • Dave Calder we came in peace for all mankind Spaced, Toulouse Press, 1979
  • Ursula K. Le Guin Siva and Kama Kenyon Review, 1979
  • Robert Frazier Encased in the Amber of Eternity The Future at War, Vol. 1, 1979
  • Duane Ackerson After Uranus, Issue 1, 1979


  • David Calder spaceman Spaced, Toulouse Press, 1979
  • Andrew Joron The Sonic Flowerfall of Primes New Worlds, Issue 216, 1979

    Nominees not included in the anthology:
    Steve Eng Questionnaire Space & Time, July 1979
    John Hollander Blue Wine Kenyon Review, 1979
    H. Warner Munn How Farmer Shore Came to Valhalla The Book of Munn, 1979

    Back to the Rhysling Archive Index

    home |current | membership | rhysling | links | advertising

    Archive created by Mike Allen 2003 e-mail