The 2010 Rhysling Winners

2010 Rhysling Award—Short Poem: Ann K. Scwader
ann k. schwader photoWinning poem: “To Theia”

Ann K. Schwader is the author of five poetry collections: Wild Hunt of the Stars (Sam's Dot Publishing, 2010), In the Yaddith Time (Mythos Books, 2007), Architectures of Night (Dark Regions Press, 2003), The Worms Remember (Hive Press, 2001), and Werewoman (Nocturnal Publications, 1990). A comprehensive collection of her weird verse is forthcoming from Hippocampus Press. She lives and writes in suburban Colorado. “To Theia” appeared in Strange Horizons 9/28/09.


2010 Rhysling Award—Long Poem: Kendall Evans and Samantha Henderson
Kendall Evans and Samantha Henderson photoWinning poem: "In the Astronaut Asylum"

Samantha Henderson lives in Southern California. Her poetry has been published in Weird Tales, Goblin Fruit, Mythic Delirium, Stone Telling, Star*Line, Strange Horizons, and Lone Star Stories. Her short fiction has been published in Strange Horizons, Realms of Fantasy, Clarksworld, Fantasy, Abyss & Apex, and the anthologies Running with the Pack and Steampunk Reloaded.

Kendall Evans was also a collaborator for the Rhysling Award-winning long poem in 2006.


Grand Master Award: Jane Yolen
Ray Bradbury 2008 photoJane Yolen has published hundreds of poems, including winners of Rhysling, Dwarf Stars and Asimov's Readers' awards, and her poetry has frequently appeared in Star*Line. Her involvement with the SFPA has long been appreciated,as well as her activities in support of new writers.

She has written works for children, for adolescents (and arrested adolescents), and for adults, whatever they are. Grand Mastership is a small honor to give her for what she has done for the genre and the form. If you can't find something that has touched your life as a fan or as child or as a spouse or a pirate or a mouse or a dragon or ... well, if there is nothing here at all to touch your life, then perhaps you have not really lived.

background image sfpa logo