The 2011 Rhysling Winners

2011 Rhysling Award—Short Poem: Amal El-Mohtar
Winning poem: "Peach-Creamed Honey"

Appeared in Honey Month (Papaveria Press, 2010)


2011 Rhysling Award—Long Poem: C.S.E. Cooney
Kendall Evans and Samantha Henderson photoWinning poem: "The Sea-King's Second Bride"

Appeared in Goblin Fruit spring 2010

C.S.E. Cooney also won third place in the Short Poem category for “Dog Star Men”


Second Place—Short Poem: Karen A. Romanko
Karen A. Romanko photoPoem: “Binary Creation Myth”

Appeared in Star*Line 33.1

Karen A. Romanko has seen over 100 of her poems and short stories published in venues such as Strange Horizons, Aberrant Dreams, Ideomancer, and Lone Star Stories. When she switches literary hats, she edits and publishes speculative fiction and poetry anthologies under the Raven Electrick Ink imprint, such as Retro Spec: Tales of Fantasy and Nostalgia (2010) and Jack-o'-Spec: Tales of Halloween and Fantasy (coming September 2011).


Second Place—Long Poem: Bruce Boston
Poem: “Dark Rains Here and There”

Appeared in Dark Matters (Bad Moon Books, 2010)


Third Place—Short Poem: C.S.E. Cooney
Poem: “Dog Star Men”

Appeared in Apex Magazine 15


Third Place—Long Poem: Robert Frazier
Poem: “Wreck-Diving the Starship”

Appeared in Dreams and Nightmares 87

background image sfpa logo